Day 1 – Countdown to June 1, 2013.

Today is Sunday.

I have 6 sleeps until my team plays one of the biggest games to date.

It doesn’t matter how big or small the bout when it comes to my nerves and level of excitement.  A huge challenge for me is to stay in control of my nerves and that ‘fight or flight’ instinct.  The days and hours leading up to game day usually consist of the desire to toss my cookies, or get in a ring and beat somebody to a pulp.

At this point I feel alright.  As we all know only 14 skaters can play in a game and currently my team has a roster of 18, so for now I am just trying to focus on preparing my body to skate as well as staying mentally strong.

Goal for today: Get Food for the Week.

As the schedule of a skater can be pretty hectic, and the days leading up to big game can be stressful, I decided to complete this task today.  I am happy to say I have all the food I will need for the week.  The plan is to eat as clean as possible, and have snacks on hand that are quick and easy but packed full of energy.  I have a lot of ingredients for salads, smoothies and stir-fry, as well as fruits and veggies to snack on.

Tomorrow I have work and then practice.  At work I am going to try and just focus on work, but will also probably run jams over in my head from The Big O and imagine what I would have done differently, or what the opposing jammers were doing.  Visualization plays a big part in my preparation for a game and also helps keep me sane when I start to get anxious.

At practice the goal will be to pick one thing to work on for that 2 hours.  I find the best way for me to improve is to focus on one thing, whether it be my stride, or a style of stop, or just being patient during a jam, by choosing one thing I am better able to concentrate on what I am doing, rather than just having jamnesia and not really being present.

Buenas Noches oxImage

One thought on “Day 1 – Countdown to June 1, 2013.

  1. The ill Reverend Mic says:

    You almost do not see it, because they are so much alike, but there is that point where nervous energy turns into excitement and anticipation with experience.

Leave a Reply

